Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Ceremonial Oxford: Music for the Georgian University by William Hayes ()

by , , , , ,

William Hayes, an organist and a professor of music at Oxford, has been neglected among Handel's successors, and this fine release by the Choir of Keble College, Oxford and the historical-performance group Instruments of Time and Truth under Matthew Martin strongly suggests that the omission has been a major one. Hayes, 23 years younger, was clearly a follower of Handel and conducted his works on a number of occasions. A few of the anthems here reflect Handel's style, yet most of them look either forward or backward: there ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. The Passions, secular ode: Overture: An Ode to Music
  2. The Passions, secular ode: Chorus: Thy wide extended pow'r
  3. O worship the Lord
  4. Psalm 23: Lo! My Shepherd's hand divine, for chorus & continuo
  5. Lord, how long wilt thou be angry, for chorus & continuo
  6. Organ Concerto in G major
  7. Save, Lord, and hear us, for chorus & continuo
  8. Voluntary for organ in G
  9. Lord, thou hast been our refuge, for chorus & continuo
  10. Psalm 120: To God I cry'd with anguish stung, for chorus & continuo
  11. O be joyful in God, all ye lands, for chorus & continuo
  12. The Fall of Jericho, oratorio: Sinfonia: Andante
  13. The Fall of Jericho, oratorio: Sinfonia: Allegro
  14. The Fall of Jericho, oratorio: Chorus: Whom then does Jericho deride; Will she in gates of brass rejoice
  15. The Hundredth Psalm, for chorus & continuo
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Ceremonial Oxford: Music for the Georgian University by William Hayes
2018, CRD Records

UPC: 708093353422


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency