Weekend Sale | Save $15. Get the code »

Britten: The Canticles ()

by , , , , , ,

Understandably, there have been few recordings of Benjamin Britten's Canticles. Although the works are both brilliantly written and profoundly affecting, how many performers would dare contend with the performances of the Canticles by Peter Pears, the tenor for whom they were written, with the composer himself at the piano? Not many, as it turns out, and most of these, whatever their merits, have fallen short of that of Pears and Britten. But this 2001 recording of the Canticles V, plus seven of Britten's folk song settings ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Canticle I: My Beloved Is Mine, for high voice & piano, Op. 40
  2. Canticle II: Abraham and Isaac, for alto, tenor & piano, Op. 51
  3. Canticle III: Still Falls the Rain, for tenor, horn & piano, Op. 55
  4. Canticle IV: The Journey of the Magi, for countertenor, tenor, baritone & piano, Op. 86
  5. Canticle V: The Death of St Narcissus, for tenor & harp, Op. 89
  6. The plough boy, folksong for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. III)
  7. The Salley Gardens, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. I)
  8. The foggy, foggy dew, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. III)
  9. There's none to soothe, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. III)
  10. O Waly, Waly, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. III)
  11. The ash grove, for voice & piano (Folk Songs, Vol. I)
  12. Greensleeves, folksong arrangement for high voice & piano
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Britten: The Canticles
2002, Virgin

UPC: 724354552526


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency