alibris logo

Book of Haikus

by ,

Above all, a haiku must be very simple and free of all poetic trickery and make a little picture and yet be as airy and graceful as a Vivaldi pastorella.' Jack Kerouac. Renowned for his groundbreaking Beat Generation novel "On the Road", Jack Kerouac was also a master of the haiku, the three-line, seventeen-syllable Japanese poetic form. Following in the tradition of Basho, Buson, Shiki, Issa, and other poets, Kerouac experimented with this centuries-old genre, taking it beyond strict syllable counts into what he believed ...

loading
  • Book Details
  • Seller
Book of Haikus
2004, Enitharmon Press, London

ISBN-13: 9781904634003

Paperback

Book of Haikus
2003, Penguin Books, New York, NY

ISBN-13: 9780142002643

Trade paperback

Filter Results
Shipping
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency