Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Birth of the Strings ()

by , ,

This release boxes together three related previously issued albums, each in its entirety. They purport to trace respectively the birth of the violin, the cello, and the string quartet, and in pursuit of this goal they offer a refreshingly simple and original programming concept: the earliest known surviving examples of each instrument or combination (depending on how you reckon it, of course) are deployed in the earliest solo repertory item in each case. There's a problem: in none of these three cases does the method work ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Ricercata prima for cello, Op. 1/1
  2. Ricercata seconda for cello, Op. 1/2
  3. Ricercar No. 3 in F major, for cello
  4. Ricercata quarta for cello, Op. 1/4
  5. Ricercata quinta for cello, Op. 1/5
  6. Ricercata sesta for cello, Op. 1/6
  7. Ricercata settima for cello, Op. 1/7
  8. Ricercata ottava for cello, Op. 1/8
  9. Ricercata nona for cello, Op. 1/9
  10. Ricercar No. 10 in G minor, for cello
  11. Ricercata undecima for cello, Op. 1/11
  12. Ricercata duodecima for cello, Op. 1/12
  13. Ricercar for cello solo No. 1 in G minor
  14. Ricercar for cello solo No. 2 in A minor
  15. Ricercar for cello solo No. 3 in D major
  16. Ricercar for cello solo No. 4 in E flat major
  17. Ricercar for cello solo No. 5 in C major
  18. Ricercar for cello solo No. 6 in G major
  19. Ricercar for cello solo No. 7 in D minor
  20. Sonata a quattro, for string quartet No. 4 in D minor ("Quartet Sonata")
  21. Symphony for 2 violins, viola & bass in G major, J-C 39
  22. String Quartet No. 1 in G major ("Lodi"), K. 80 (K. 73f)
  23. String Quartet in C minor, G. 159 (Op. 2/1)
  24. String Quartet No. 11 in D minor, Op. 9/4, H. 3/22
  25. Suite (Partita) for solo violin No. 2 in A major
  26. Passacaglia (Mystery Sonata), for violin solo in G minor, C. 105
  27. Sonata for solo violin in A minor
  28. The Art of Playing on the Violin, compositions (12) for violin & continuo, Op. 9: Etüde
  29. Fantasia for violin
  30. Amusement, airs and 12 caprices for solo violin, Op. 18: Amusement
  31. Partite for violin in D minor
  32. Untitled CD-ROM Track
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Birth of the Strings
2011, Solo Musica

UPC: 4260123641610


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency