Limited-Time Offer | Save $10. Get the code »

Best of Broadside 1962-1988 ()


From the early '60s to the late '80s, Broadside magazine printed numerous topical songs by contemporary writers, in addition to articles and commentary. By far the most influential years of its life span were the earliest ones, in the early to mid-'60s, when it helped steer the folk movement toward original material that directly addressed modern society and social injustice. This five-CD box set is an important document of Broadside's contribution to 20th century American popular music. The Broadside LPs included material ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Links on the Chain
  2. Blowin' in the Wind
  3. Paths of Victory
  4. The Ballad of Ira Hayes
  5. Ain't That News?
  6. The Times I've Had
  7. Go Limp
  8. Ding Dong Dollar
  9. Mack the Bomb
  10. The Civil Defense Sign
  11. Let Me Die in My Footsteps
  12. Hiroshima Nagasaki Russian Roulette
  13. What Have They Done to the Rain?
  14. Ballad of William Worthy
  15. Train for Auschwitz
  16. Do as the Doukhobors Do
  17. Christine
  18. As Long as the Grass Shall Grow
  19. John Brown
  20. Take Me for a Walk (Morning Dew)
  21. The Willing Conscript
  22. Kill for Peace
  23. Plains of Nebrasky-O
  24. Benny Kid Peace
  25. What Did You Learn in School Today?
  26. Changin' Hands
  27. Welcome, Welcome Emigrante
  28. Shady Acres
  29. Lord, Hold Back the Waters
  30. Ballad of Donald White
  31. Song for Patty
  32. A Very Close Friend of Mine
  33. Long Time Troubled Road
  34. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  35. Mississippi Goddam
  36. We'll Never Turn Back
  37. Freedom Riders
  38. Father's Grace
  39. Society's Child (Baby I've Been Thinking)
  40. I'm Gonna Get My Baby Out of Jail
  41. The Ballard of Martin Luther King
  42. Carry It On
  43. Birmingham Sunday
  44. The Migrant's Song
  45. El Picket Sign
  46. La Lucha Continuara
  47. Cantra la Pro
  48. Mrs. Clara
  49. If It Wasn't for the Union
  50. More Good Men Going Down
  51. Sundown
  52. My Oklahoma Home (It Blowed Away)
  53. Drag Lines
  54. My Father's Mansions
  55. Pinkville Helicopter
  56. Hell No, I Ain't Going Go
  57. We Seek No Wider War
  58. Waist Deep in the Big Muddy
  59. Vietman
  60. Hole in the Ground
  61. To Be a Killer
  62. New York J-D Blues
  63. Little Boxes
  64. Not Enough to Live on But Too Much to Die
  65. Bizzness Ain't Dead
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Best of Broadside 1962-1988
2000, Smithsonian Folkways Recordings

UPC: 093074013021


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency