Beethoven: The 9 Symphonies; Overtures ()

by , , , , ,

Clear, strong, and direct with virtuosic ensemble and conducting, George Szell and the Cleveland Orchestra's set of the Beethoven symphonies was one of the great cycles of the '60s. Szell's interpretations are thoroughly thought through from opening gesture to final apotheosis, but still passionately and powerfully played by the superb Cleveland Orchestra. Their First is poised and elegant. Their Second is monumental and exhilarating. Their Third is grand and violent. Their Fourth is graceful and balanced. Their Fifth is ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Symphony No. 1 in C major, Op. 21
  2. Symphony No. 6 in F major ("Pastoral"), Op. 68
  3. Egmont, incidental music, Op. 84: Overture
  4. Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 36
  5. Symphony No. 5 in C minor ("Fate"), Op. 67
  6. Symphony No. 3 in E flat major ("Eroica"), Op. 55
  7. Symphony No. 8 in F major, Op. 93
  8. Symphony No. 4 in B flat major, Op. 60
  9. Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
  10. König Stephan (King Stephen), incidental music, Op. 117: Overture
  11. Symphony No. 9 in D minor ("Choral"), Op. 125
  12. Fidelio, overture, Op. 72c
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Beethoven: The 9 Symphonies; Overtures
1992, Sony Music

UPC: 074644839623


Browse related Genres
+ Browse All Genres
Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency