Weekend Sale | Save $10. Get the code »

Avalon Blues: The Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings ()


Mississippi John Hurt's latter-day recordings after his rediscovery have somewhat obscured the importance of these debut sides -- the ones that made his rediscovery an idea initially worth pursuing. Archival recordings such as Avalon Blues: The Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings are the collector's items that made his rep in the first place, and stand as some of the most poetic and beautiful of all country blues recordings. Hurt's playing is sheer musical perfection, with a keen sense of chord melody structure to make his bouncy ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Frankie
  2. Nobody's Dirty Business
  3. Ain't No Tellin'
  4. Louis Collins
  5. Avalon Blues
  6. Big Leg Blues
  7. Stack O' Lee
  8. Candy Man Blues
  9. Got the Blues (Can't Be Satisfied)
  10. Blessed Be the Name
  11. Praying on the Old Camp Ground
  12. Blue Harvest Blues
  13. Spike Driver Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Avalon Blues: The Complete 1928 Okeh Recordings
2008, Legacy

UPC: 886972331423


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency