American Roots: A History of American Folk Music ()


Dutch discount reissue label Disky's four-CD box set American Roots: A History of American Folk Music is an ambitious undertaking, at least as far as sheer length is concerned. In other respects, it can be considered skimpy: the packaging is negligible; there are no annotations beyond song titles, artist and songwriter credits, and copyright dates; and the selections, probably mastered from records, often have a primitive sound quality. But the compilation still manages to be an exhaustive collection of vital American ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Peach Pickin' Time in Georgia
  2. Sail Away Ladies
  3. Wildwood Flower
  4. Trail to Mexico
  5. The Runaway Train
  6. When the Saints Go Marching In
  7. All Night Long
  8. Red Wing
  9. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  10. Goin' to the Barn Dance Tonight
  11. Go Long Mule
  12. Frankie and Johnny
  13. Three Men Went a Huntin'
  14. My Man's a Jolly Railroad Man
  15. Waiting for a Train
  16. Georgia's Three-Dollar Tag
  17. Jamestown Exhibition
  18. Lay Down Baby, Take Your Rest
  19. Backwater Blues
  20. Wreck of the Old '97
  21. The Little Old Sod Shanty on My Claim
  22. Bury Me Under the Weeping Willow
  23. In the Hills of Tennessee
  24. Ida Red
  25. Alto Waltz
  26. John Hardy Was a Desperate Little Man
  27. Gambling Bar Room Blues
  28. Little Bessie
  29. Roll in My Sweet Baby's Arms
  30. I'm Goin' Away in the Morn
  31. Papa's Billy Goat
  32. Hackberry Trot
  33. Abbeville Breakdown
  34. Tiger Rag Blues
  35. Louisiana Mazurka
  36. Step It Fast
  37. High Steppin' Mama Blues
  38. T for Texas (Blue Yodel No. 1)
  39. Anchored in Love
  40. Jimmie Rodgers Visits the Carter Family
  41. Hard for to Love
  42. The Yellow Rose of Texas
  43. The Brave Engineer
  44. Taxes on the Farmer Feeds Them All
  45. Hold the Woodpile Down
  46. Man of Constant Sorrow
  47. Rambling Boy
  48. My Little Lady
  49. Two Italians...Red Bird
  50. Orange Blossom Special
  51. Brown's Ferry Blues
  52. Row Us over the Tide
  53. Big Rock Candy Mountain
  54. Oklahoma Hills
  55. Nine Pound Hammer
  56. Cannonball Rag
  57. Red River Valley
  58. Mule Skinner Blues
  59. Great Speckled Bird
  60. Take It to the Captain
  61. Garden in the Sky
  62. Milk Cow Blues
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
American Roots: A History of American Folk Music

UPC: 724382485728


American Roots: A History of American Folk Music
2000, Best Music International

UPC: 793515285726


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency