Black Friday Sale | $20 Coupon. Get the code »

alibris logo

Alligator Stomp, Vol. 2 ()


If you're exploring the pleasures of Louisiana's zydeco and Cajun music, one of the best starting points is Rhino's excellent Alligator Stomp series of the 1990s. Vol. 2's main flaw is its failure to list recording dates -- even if Rhino couldn't find exact recording dates for all of its 18 songs, couldn't the label have at least given the years or approximate years? But the sound quality is fine, Mary Katherine Alden's liner notes are informative, and Rhino's selections are excellent. For high-energy zydeco, it's hard to ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Oh Yeh Yai
  2. Saturday Night Special
  3. Pine Grove Blues
  4. Jolie Blonde
  5. My Girl Josephine
  6. Evangeline Special
  7. Choo Choo Ch-Boogie
  8. My Toot Toot
  9. Jambalaya (On the Bayou)
  10. Louisiana Man
  11. Deacon Jones
  12. Zydeco Gris-Gris
  13. Zydeco Boogaloo
  14. The Back Door (La Porte d'En Arrière)
  15. Mardi Gras in New Orleans
  16. The Cajun Stripper
  17. 'Ka-Wann'
  18. Mama Told Papa
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Alligator Stomp, Vol. 2
1991, Rhino

UPC: 081227074043


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency