Limited-Time Offer | Save $10. Get the code »

Alfred Schnittke: The Ten Symphonies

by , , , , , , , , ,

It may be years before we can tell if the performances in BIS' set of Alfred Schnittke's complete symphonies are great or not. There is hardly any competition, at best one or two other recordings for each work, and although most of the alternatives were made with the great Gennady Rozhdestvensky at the podium, they are not necessarily definitive, since most of Schnittke's symphonies were composed in the 1980s and 1990s, and no performance tradition has yet evolved to determine if they are centralist or eccentric ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Symphony No. 1
  2. Applause
  3. Symphony No. 2 for soloists, chorus & orchestra ("St. Florian")
  4. Symphony No. 3
  5. Symphony No. 7
  6. Symphony No. 4 for 2 soloists, piano, chamber chorus & chamber orchestra
  7. Symphony No. 5 (Concerto Grosso No. 4)
  8. Symphony No. 6
  9. Symphony No. 8
  10. Symphony No. 0
  11. Symphony No. 9 (unfinished)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
Alfred Schnittke: The Ten Symphonies
2009, BIS

UPC: 7318591767688


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency