2 Day Sale | Save up to $20. Get the code »

A Walk with Ivor Gurney ()

by , , , , , , ,

This double album takes its name from the included 2013 work by Judith Bingham, setting poems by the British composer-poet Ivor Gurney and also referring to his penchant for taking long walks in the countryside. The text, quite inventively, mixes Gurney's poems with inscriptions from Roman tombs he might have seen on his walks, which in turn evoke what must have been his own disorientation as he faced poison gas on the front in France during World War I. It's a major piece of choral music, and you might sample it and look ...

Track Listing
Show All Tracks
  1. Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis, for 2 string orchestras
  2. Like as the Hart Desireth the Waterbrooks (Psalm 42), anthem for chorus
  3. Since I believe in God the Father Almighty, for double chorus
  4. A Walk with Ivor Gurney, for mezzo-soprano & chorus
  5. By a Bierside for voice & piano
  6. In Flanders for voice & piano
  7. Sleep, for voice & piano
  8. An Oxford Elegy for narrator, small chorus & small orchestra
  9. Valiant for Truth, motet for chorus (with piano or organ ad lib)
  10. Lord, Thou Hast Been Our Refuge, motet for soloists, semi-chorus & orchestra (or organ) (Psalm 90)
Show Fewer Tracks

  • Music Details
  • Seller
A Walk with Ivor Gurney
2018, Signum Classics

UPC: 635212055724


Filter Results
Item Condition
Seller Rating
Other Options
Change Currency